Amazing corn chowder

DSC_4498
I have seriously been on a soup kick. It could be because the weather here is still freezing cold. I really try not to go outside if I don’t have to. I miss the days of sunshine and parks with my little girl. Spring should hopefully be here soon. Until then I will stay inside wearing my footie pajamas and you will probably keep getting soup recipes. This is one of my all-time favorite soups/chowder. My mom use to make it all the time growing up. She always made it with water instead of broth. But I like the added flavor of broth.

Amazing Corn Chowder

You will need
1 pound bacon, diced
1 onion, chopped
4 celery stalks, chopped
4 carrots, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
2-3 large potatoes, cubed
2, 12oz cans of corn including liquid
Salt and pepper
Dash of hot sauce (Or more depending on your taste)
Around 2 cups chicken broth (or water) (Enough to cover the potatoes)
1 ½ cup milk
8oz cream cheese diced

You can make this all in one pan for easy clean up. But if in a hurry you can cook the bacon and veggies in a different pan while you have the potatoes cooking.

Sauté bacon until crispy, in a 6qt pan, remove the bacon with slotted spoon leave the grease. Add onion and cook until golden. Add celery, carrots cook until soften. Add garlic cook until fragrant. Drain pan. Return bacon and veggie back to the pan. Add potatoes, corn (including liquid), seasonings, hot sauce and liquid (enough to barely cover everything). Cook over medium heat until potatoes are tender. Reduce heat to low, add the milk and cream cheese, adjust seasonings as needed. Once cream cheese has melted ready to serve!

This makes enough for a few meals, I like to freeze the left overs for other no brain meals. If you are not wanting a ton you can easily cut this recipe in half.

About hairstylistinthekitchen

I am a hairstylist by profession, but love being in the kitchen baking and cooking!

Leave a Reply

